God is in the Gravel

Posted: April 9, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

God is in the Gravel

Our new experience of living in the Yukon has brought us some new amazing adventures and along with it, some new and challenging perspectives on life. The advent of spring in particular has brought on a new excitement and new flavour that this icy white kingdom has yet to offer us. For the first time since we moved here in the dead of winter we are seeing blades of grass, buds on trees, water through the ice, and a gravel base has appeared from beneath the thick layers of ice they call roads. The sun is finally able to stretch it’s warm fingers this far north during the day and can finally melt and warm the region while the shortening cool nights fight against it and freezes all the progress the melting has made only to start the process again the next day. The stronger of the two win the battle and from now until August, the victor is the sun.

My wife and I were going for an evening walk with our girls recently, and my youngest, (now almost two) is starting to get a taste for independence. She’s a ferocious little nugget when she wants to do things herself and is not allowed, she often resorts to screaming, yelling, maybe some push back and a lot of whining. Zoey has the most beautiful smile and most amazing temperament. She loves to scream “DADDY” and give me the longest, tightest hugs you can imagine. She’s amazing, but she’s started to build her personality with that comes some real….gusto. I call it spice, and Zoey can get real spicy if she wants to.  She has yet to know that there are things I simply won’t let her do, no matter how much she fights it, however she is also learning that there are some things I’m willing to let her do and try and even let her fail at. As we went for a saturday walk to feel whatever warmth the sun would offer, Zoey started to climb out of the wagon and decided that she wanted to help daddy pull it. My little girl didn’t want her daddy pulling her anymore, but she did want to help me pull so I was happy to oblige.

Image

It was only moments into our pulling duet that Zoey decided she no longer needed her dad. I warned her that she wouldn’t be able to do this alone, the gravel road -which was now exposed – left some bumps and obstacles that her limited strength couldn’t handle alone. I told her we can walk this path together and I’d let her direct the wagon, but I’d keep her close and protected and I’d help in the rough gravel. Regardless of my offer and advice, Zoey wrapped her tiny fingers around the handle while pushing mine away. She pulled the “little Miss Independent” card and demanded that she do the pulling alone. She didn’t need me (or so she thought). I pulled away. As a parent I saw the failure not two steps away for my little but growing 2 year old girl, but for the sake of learning I stood back to watch my baby struggle alone with her burden, trying to pull it without hope through the thick gravel and ice.

Within a moment her frustration builds and she slips and landed hard on her little knees on the gravel. She begins to cry so I offer to come to help her, but she yells “Stop Dada!” and furrows her brow. She was spicy, and quite angry at me (I’m not quite sure why) but unwilling to compromise in her predicament. She climbed to her feet and began to pull again. A few moments in she got her plastic tire stuck behind an oversized piece of stone and looks at me with her wrinkled little brow and with her limited ability to talk she starts to babble angry nonsense at me. She’s mad. She’s mad that I left her, mad that she can’t do this alone and she’s stuck, she’s hurt, she’s wet and everything is a mess. She plops to her bum in the an ice mud puddle on the road and begins to cry, she puts her arms out and I swoop to her rescue. I love my baby Zoey.

Lesson learned Zoey. You need your dad. The parallel to our human relationship with our creator couldn’t be avoided. We ignore the direction, the warnings, the help and the plan. We tell God we don’t need him, were strong enough, smart enough, creative enough and independent enough that we don’t need our “Dad” anymore. We remove “our father” from our schools, our lives, our Sundays and our weekdays, our holidays, our bedside tables, our marriages, and our workplace because we are strong enough without out him… or so we thought.

We crash, we burn, we divorce and we hurt. We are empty, and broken, sad and lonely. We are weak, and sore, tired and frustrated with life. We are in debt, in excess, diseased and corrupt. We are perverted, and violent, lustful and selfish.

In the midst of our darkened state we lift our furrowed brows to the heavens and ask the world:

  • “There’s no God, If there was a Dad a God he wouldn’t let this happen. He wouldn’t put me through this.”
  • “There is a God but he is too big, and too far off to be involved in my life.”
  • “There is a God but he is cruel to leave me alone, and broken. To leave our world a mess and distraught.”
  • “There is nothing, no one, no god. we are alone.”

But that is not it at all is it. That’s not the picture from above looking down on the scene, that’s not how this has played out, it’s just all were able to see in the moment.

“Zoey I was here all along. I was just waiting for you to come back and ask for help. I want you to run into my arms when you hurt your knee, or to let me come embrace you when you were frustrated. From the beginning I was here and to the end I’ll still be here.

At the start we walked beside each other, we were hand in hand walking together, but then you told me you didn’t need me. I gave you freedom (knowing what you would do with it), but wanting you to see that you need me, I let you walk away. It was painful for me, hard not to jump in.  You took that freedom and ran away from me to where you couldn’t see me anymore. But I never left.  I was there right behind you.

I love you so much I have decided to give you the freedom to choose me, to choose to ask for my help or to come to me so I can heal your broken wings. I’m your dad. I’m your father, I created you and that will never change”.

God hasn’t left. He isn’t turning his back and he isn’t non-existent in this world. He is very much present, very much alive and simply waiting for you to return to him, your creator and your Dad. Waiting for you to embrace him, his plan, his words, his message and walk alongside him once again.

Image

(kezzy pulling Zoey earlier that night.)

Jerameiah 1:5

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you…”

Ephesians 1: 4-14

4 Even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love 5 he predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of his will, 6 to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved. 7 In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace, 8 which he lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight 9 making known to us the mystery of his will, according to his purpose, which he set forth in Christ 10 as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in him, things in heaven and things on earth. 11 In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will, 12 so that we who were the first to hope in Christ might be to the praise of his glory. 13 In him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, 14 who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it,to the praise of his glory

Comments
  1. Mikki says:

    Beautiful word picture! So much insight for such a young dad. Keep on “looking unto the hills where your help comes from”, Psalm 121

  2. Bradzz says:

    awesome Bro. I could pic Zoey’s face I miss that little princess. great words

  3. Uncle Ron says:

    Great, practical, life sermon Marshal, by the way I prayed for you before I got out of bed this morning, how about that. God bless you all, Uncle Ron

Leave a Reply

